2017 Phelan Mostyn Medal night award winners

AFL Sydney held their annual Phelan Mostyn Medal last night at Doltone House in Sydney’s Pyrmont.

Hosting over 650 people including special guests such as AFL Commissioner Gabrielle Trainor, Sydney Swans Board Member Sam Mostyn, GWS GIANTS CEO David Matthews, representatives from Multicultural NSW and White Ribbon, as well as AFL legend Kevin Sheedy, AFL Sydney celebrated what was another stellar year of competition.

Hosted by Sydney Swans Match Day MC and Nova 96.9’s Matt de Groot, over 25 awards were presented for excellence over the 2017 XBlades AFL Sydney season.

Macquarie University’s Amanda Farrugia took out the highest Women’s honour, the Mostyn Medal while the North Shore Bomber’s Shaun Crane was awarded the Phelan Medal prize.

AFL Sydney would like to congratulate the following award winners from across the night.

Best and Fairest Medals

Premier Division – Phelan Medal

Shaun Crane – North Shore Bombers

Women’s Premier Division – Mostyn Medal

Amanda Farrugia – Macquarie University

Division One – Snow Medal

Ryan Kennedy – Sydney University

Women’s Division One – James Medal

Courtney Corr – Western Magic

Division Two – Sanders Medal

Andrew Eurell – Western Suburbs Magpies

Division Three – McFarlane Medal

James Broadbent – Camden Cats

Division Four – Armstrong Medal

Callum Andrews – St George Dragons

Division Five – Apted Medal

Kyle Bradley – Campbelltown Blues

Under 19’s Division One – Kealy Medal

Jesse Vidot-Coleman – Pennant Hills Demons

Under 19’s Division Two – Hart Medal

Joel Upfill – South West Cats

Life Member induction

Life Member – David Spence

Rising Stars

XBlades AFL Sydney Rising Star Award – Jack Buckley – UNSW ES Bulldogs

XBlades AFL Sydney Women’s Rising Star Award – Zoe Devlin – UNSW ES Stingrays

Volunteer of the Year

XBlades AFL Sydney Volunteer of the Year 

Greg Goodieson – UNSW ES Bulldogs

Club Champion

XBlades AFL Sydney 2017 Club Champion – Camden Cats

The Howarth Trophy 2017

Representative Player of the Year 2017 – Shaun Crane

Umpire of the Year

XBlades AFL Sydney Umpire of the Year – Matt Geddes

Multicultural NSW Harmony Award

Andrew Elchah – Western Suburbs Magpies

Yashar Kammoun – Auburn Penrith GIANTS

Leading Goal Kickers

Stan Milton Trophy – Premier Division Leading Goalkicker 2017 – Nick Salter – Western Suburbs – 59 Goals

Women’s Premier Division Leading Goalkicker 2017 – Rachael Stack – Sydney University  – 43 Goals

Division One Leading Goalkicker 2017 – Anthony Brawn – Pennant Hills – 56 Goals

Women’s Division One Leading Goalkicker 2017 – Rylee Mcgartland – Wollongong Saints – 57 Goals

Division Two Leading Goalkicker 2017 – Mitchell Stevens – Penrith Rams – 102 Goals

Division Three Leading Goalkicker 2017 – Matt Lecek – Camden Cats – 74 Goals

Division Four Leading Goalkicker 2017 – Frank Holzer – UTS Bats – 64 Goals

Division Five Leading Goalkicker 2017 – Kyle Bradley – Campbelltown Blues – 48 Goals

U19s Division One Leading Goalkicker 2017 – Matthew Buskariol – North Shore Bombers – 57 Goals

U19s Division Two Leading Goalkicker 2017 – Joel Upfill – South West Cats – 39 Goals