Crane and Smyth claim 2018 Phelan and Mostyn Medals

The Phelan and Mostyn Medals have been awarded at Doltone House in Sydney on Monday night.

In a thrilling count for the Women’s Premier Division, Macquarie University’s Pippa Smyth claimed the Mostyn Medal after a break-out debut year in the AFL Sydney competition.

Sitting equal on 17 votes with Auburn-Penrith’s Haneen Zreika at the end of the count, Smyth claimed the individual title after Zreika was deemed ineligible due to a suspension earlier in the year.

Playing most often in the ruck or down back for the Warriors, Smyth said the accolade was a surprise.

“I definitely did not imagine this,” said Smyth.

“It’s a big surprise but I couldn’t have got it without my team, it’s pretty awesome, this is the coolest thing.

“The Sydney competition is so awesome…it has helped my footy, my coaches have been absolutely incredible and have helped me so much, so I’m extremely grateful, the Sydney competition is running so well.”

For Men’s Premier Division, North Shore’s Shaun Crane took out back-to-back Phelan Medals with a runaway nine-vote win over his closest competitor, his teammate, Kyle Devlin who finished on 20 votes.

“I’m pretty baffled to be honest,” said Crane.

“There’s a fair bit of guilt in me at the moment. Kyle Devlin I thought had an outstanding year and I really wanted him to bring it home this year.

“But I’m honoured to receive it again. Obviously you’d trade it in to be playing this weekend [in the Grand Final], but I am honoured.

Crane went on to tell the 650-strong crowd that North Shore has built a sturdy foundation for future success, despite their missing out on a Grand Final appearance by one-game for the third year in a row.

“I wouldn’t say it’s been a disappointing year, but it’s been a disappointing two weeks. The year was outstanding by the whole North Shore Football Club, everything we did on the road all year, we really built a foundation and game plan that is going to stand up in the future.”

Winners of the remaining division medals include (see the final vote count here):

Granland Medal (AFL Sydney Men’s Division Three 2018)

Alex Huggins  (Pennant Hills Demons)

Apted Medal (AFL Sydney Men’s Division Two 2018)

Matthew Rawle (Manly-Warringah)

Hart Medal (AFL Sydney Under 19s Division Two 2018)

Ben Harvey (North Shore)

James Medal (AFL Sydney Women’s Division One 2018)

Emily Goodsir (East Coast)

Andrews-Burgmaan (Women’s Division Two)

Lauren Bragg (Camden)

Kealy Medal (AFL Sydney Under 19s Division One 2018)

Noah Casalini (St George)

Armstrong Medal (AFL Sydney Men’s Division One 2018)

Harry Lewis (Randwck)

Sanders Medal (AFL Sydney Platinum Division 2018)

Hugh Priest (Balmain)

Snow Medal (AFL Sydney Premier Division Reserves 2018)

Matthew Whitbread (North Shore) and Patrick Witt (Pennant Hills)

McFarlane Medal (AFL Sydney Platinum Division Reserves 2018)

Alex Perkins (Western Magic)

Keep up-to-date with all AFL Sydney related news by following us on FacebookInstagram and Twitter.