AFL Sydney Women’s Representative Squad

The AFL Sydney Women’s Representative squad has been announced ahead of their game against the Black Diamond AFL League this Saturday.

The UNSW-Eastern Suburbs Stingrays have been rewarded for some strong early form with seven selections, while the table-topping Sydney University have five players in the squad.

The Stingrays have only conceded 48-points across five games this season, with a number of players recognised for their efforts so far this year.

Eighteen-year-old, Zoe Devlin has been a standout. The midfielder who was awarded the Round 2 Rising Star Award, makes the squad for the first time after slotting in nicely to a team filled with Premiership experience.

Ali Wood and Kristy Sutcliffe have also been rewarded for their strong form for Sydney University. They are joined by Bomber’s co-captain Jen Lew, the Centre Half-Back who has plenty of representative experience.

Kieran Emery, Head Coach of the AFL Sydney Women’s Representative team, is excited at the chance to work with such a talented squad.

“I am really looking forward to coaching the group and hopefully we can get the win on the day,” Emery said.

“The squad is looking really good. It’s great to see so many talented footballers running around in the AFL Sydney competition.

“It’s a great opportunity for the girls within AFL Sydney to showcase their talent, and I’m sure the Black Diamond League will pose a great challenge.”

The team features 25 of the best performing players this season and will be cut to 22 on Thursday.

The AFL Sydney Women’s team takes on Black Diamond AFL on Saturday 20th May 2017 at Adelaide Street Oval, Tumbi Umbi at 12 pm. The men’s representative match will kick-off at 2:15 pm.


AFL Sydney Women’s Representative Squad

East Coast

Sarah Ford

Macquarie University

Gabby Ferreira

Amy Hessell

Meagan Kiely


Holly Graham


Laura Holdsworth

North Shore

Jemma Thorp

Sydney University

Pippy Clegg

Meg Haynes

Jennifer Lew

Kristy Sutcliffe

Ali Wood

UNSW-Eastern Suburbs 

Zoe Devlin

Sandra Janjetovic

Sera Kaukiono

Roxy McGee

Phoebe Monohan

Nadia Moore

Jasmine Smith


Gillian Behan

Western Wolves

Melissa Freckelton

Sian Furniss


Taylah Frendo


Eleri Morris

Laura Russell