Max Lower claims Jack Dean Trophy and Phoebe Monahan takes out Women’s Best and Fairest – UNSW Eastern Suburbs

The 2017 UNSW-Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs & Stingrays annual presentation night was held at Moore Park Golf Club on Friday, 27 October, with young prodigy Max Lower picking up the Jack Dean trophy for Best & Fairest of Premier Division.

The young gun from Port Macquarie was playing his first season for the Bulldogs, racking up 14 games, 11 goals and 7 times in the best. He was ably supported by fellow NEAFL listed Harry Annear, who finished runner up in his third season at the club.

The Premiership Division women also had a close contest, with one point separating overall winner and newly drafted AFLW player Phoebe Monahan, and her Giants’ teammate Rebecca Beeson.

Monahan kicked 6 goals and was named in the best for 14 of her 17 games, and won the coveted award against Beeson who slotted 36 goals and was named in the best for 10 of her 16 games this season.

Jack McKinlay, Lachlan Simpson, Cillian Stritch, Harry Lewis and Madi Moar picked up the Best and Fairest for Division 2, Division 4, Division 5, Under 19s and Division 1 women respectively, with Justin Cann, Senna Gulden and Max Ries considered big names to watch for the future after getting the nod for Rising Star for Premier Division (M), Premier Division (W) and U19s.

Huge congratulations to all our milestone players in season 2017, with special mention to Lisa ‘Kiwi’ Roper who racked up 250 games, Chris ‘CJ’ Jourdain who notched up 200, and Jack McAnespie, Joel Robbie and Tracey Kick who hit the 150 mark (Kick for coaching).

Special mention also to our newly inducted life members Aaron Bantoff, Alex Henderson, Andrew Goodieson, Chris Jourdain, Chris Peters, Ed Kiel, Jack McAnespie, Jeremy Kiel, Joel Robbie, Max Collett, Oscar Jones and Peter Kefalas.

Finally, a club can be successful on field and players often receives accolade, but the biggest cheer of the night was for our Ernie Norman Clubman of the Year winner, Erle Lindsay. Erle is often seen waving flags behind the goal or cooking snags behind the grill on a weekly basis, and is always in good company, with Sydney AFL Volunteer of the Year, Greg Goodieson, generally found by his side.

The night finished on a high with the unveiling of the Premier Division (W)’s premiership flag, presented by President Stephen Dunkley to Stingrays Vice Captain Sandra Janjetovic.

Congratulations to all on a fantastic season for the club, and to all awards winners on the night.

The full awards winners were:

Jack Dean Best & Fairest – Max Lower
Runner up – Harry Annear
Most Improved – Fletcher Rowe
Coaches Award – Jack McAnespie
Best in Finals – Tom Banuelos
Mark Maclure Rising Star Award – Justin Cann

Best & Fairest – Phoebe Monahan
Runner up – Rebecca Beeson
Most Improved – Nadia Moore
Coaches Award – Sandra Janjetovic
Best in Finals – Jasmine Smith
Rising Star Award – Senna Gulden

John & Brett Roberts Best & Fairest – Jack McKinlay
Runner up – Nick McGann
Most Improved – Christopher Knudsen
Coaches Award – Luke Jones
Best in Finals – Ryan Farrelly

Les Radford Best & Fairest – Lachlan Simpson
Runner up – Chris Peters
Most Improved – Josh Lindsay
Coaches Award – Tim de Niese
Best in Finals – Chris Peters

Best & Fairest – Cillian Stritch
Runner up – Tim O’Donnell
Most Improved – Joel Martin
Coaches Award – Michael Martin

Best & Fairest – Madi Moar
Runner up – Ra Shea
Most Improved – Kermit Marks
Coaches Award – Jane Harding

Best & Fairest – Harry Lewis
Runner up – Luke Johnson
Most Improved – Finnius Mergler
Coaches Award – Jack Rheinberger
Best in Finals – Jacob Hennessey
Rising Star Award – Max Ries

The Peter Ruscuklick Award for Club Leading goalkicker – Lachlan Simpson (61 goals)

The Ernie Norman for Clubman of the Year – Erle Lindsay

Club Bondi Junction RSL Pam Jones Award – Dennis Rider

2017 Life Member inductees – Aaron Bantoff, Alex Henderson, Andrew Goodieson, Chris Jourdain, Chris Peters, Ed Kiel, Jack McAnespie, Jeremy Kiel, Joel Robbie, Max Collett, Oscar Jones and Peter Kefalas.