AFL Sydney Masters joins expanding league

AFL Sydney will this year welcome the AFL Sydney Masters competition into the expanding league.

In 2018, a seven-week Masters competition for players aged 40 years and above (with the provision of some 35-39 year old’s) will occur between April and August.

As part of this inaugural competition, four current AFL Sydney clubs will play including Sydney University, Wollondilly Knights, Macquarie University and St George Dragons, while four new clubs, North West Sydney Redbacks, Macarther Wombats, Southern Masters and Balmain Masters AFC will join the competition.

The fixtures for the AFL Sydney Masters competition are now available here.

Community Football Manager Sydney, Lauren Bunting says AFL Sydney is excited to have AFL Sydney Masters on board.

“In 2018, for the first time, AFL Sydney Juniors and Seniors are under the one governance model, and by introducing Masters as part of AFL Sydney, we are extending the participation life cycle,” says Bunting.

“This means kids are now able to begin playing NAB AFL Auskick and transition from junior football, through to senior football, and finally into Masters if they choose to.

“I would like to acknowledge the work of Bryan Minns, the President of AFL NSW/ACT Masters as well as welcome the four new Masters clubs – McCarthur Wombats, North West Redbacks, Southern Masters and Balmain Tigers Masters, to AFL Sydney.

“We are looking forward to working with Bryan and the clubs as we develop the AFL Sydney Masters competition going forward.”

If you are interested in becoming involved in the 2018 AFL Sydney Masters Competition, please click on the links under the names of the above clubs.

Keep up-to-date with all AFL Sydney related news by following us on FacebookInstagram and Twitter