Mostyn Medal

2023 Mostyn Medallist, Maryanne Harley (Sydney University). Photo courtesy of Nigel Owen

The Mostyn Medal is awarded to the AFL Sydney Women’s Premier Division player judged  the Best and Fairest in a season on votes of the field umpires who cast 3-2-1 votes at the completion of each game.

The Mostyn Medal is named after Sam Mostyn, who has the distinction of being the first ever female AFL Commissioner. Mostyn has also been a champion of women’s participation throughout the football industry for many years, and in particular, an advocate for community football in New South Wales and the ACT.

2023 Maryanne Harley Sydney University 25
2022 Sera KAUKIONO UNSW-ES Bulldogs 17
2020 Claudia GUNJACA UTS AFC 16
2019 Amanda FARRUGIA Macquarie University 25
2018 Pippa SMYTH Macquarie University 17
2017 Amanda FARRUGIA Macquarie University 28
2016 Nicola BARR Sydney University 24
2015 Amanda FARRUGIA Macquarie University 27
2014 Stephanie WALKER Sydney University 24
2013 Madelane COLLIER Wollongong Saints 16
2012 Courtney GUM UNSW/ES Stingrays 28