Phelan Medal

2023 Phelan Medallist’s; Harry Maguire (Pennant Hills Demons), Ned Campbell (North Shore Bombers), & Kale Gabila (Manly Warringah Wolves). Photo courtesy of Nigel Owen

The Phelan Medal was first awarded in 1926 for the player voted the best and fairest in the Sydney First Grade Competition. It was initially called the Ellis Medal, after the person who donated the award, E J Ellis, and at the time, the medal was forged in pure gold.

By 1932 the name had changed to the Provan Trophy after the league president of the time, A D S Provan, who also donated medallion. In 1937 the trophy was again renamed, this time to the Phelan Medal in recognition of the work, effort and commitment, Jim Phelan, acknowledged as the father of football in Sydney, had given to the code. The medal then was no longer donated but purchased by the league.

Because of WWII, the award was suspended between 1942-45 however when its presentation was resumed in 1946, the voting format had temporarily changed and as well, no actual medal was bestowed. It was not until the mid-fifties that the presentation of an actual medal was resumed and this ceremony would take place at half time of the first grade grand final. Then, the winners of the first, reserve and later Under 18/19 grades would then run a lap of honour at the grand final venue prior to the commencement of the third quarter. This arrangement changed upon the introduction of the League’s Phelan Medal Night in 1972.

2023Harry MaguirePennant Hills Demons18
Ned CampbellNorth Shore Bombers AFC18
Kale GabilaManly Warringah Wolves18
2022Noah CasaliniSt George Dragons11
 Mitchell ConnUNSW-ES Bulldogs11
 Jake VealeNorth Shore Bombers11
 Stephen WrayPennant Hills Demons11
2020Jake BARTHOLOMAEUSSydney University16
2019Ranga EDIRIWICKRAMAPennant Hills16
2018Shaun CRANENorth Shore29
2017Shaun CRANENorth Shore15
2016Jack DIMERYEast Coast Eagles17
2015Connor PETTERSSONManly Warringah24
2014Alex GOODALLPennant Hills28
2013Tyrone ARMITAGE Manly Warringah23
2011Kieran WRIGHTPennant Hills20
2010Alex LEESydney University19
2009Brydon COLESSydney University19
2008Matt CAREYPennant Hills17
2007Charlie RICHARDSONPennant Hills16
2006Troy LUFFUNSW/ES21
2005Dean DAVIESNorth Shore22
2004Stephen PECHUNSW/ES19
2003Jason TURNERCampbelltown15
2002Troy LUFFBalmain20
2000Mark MACKENZIEBalmain19
1999Trevor BURNETTCampbelltown34
1998Jarrod CROSBYBaulkham Hills22
1997Simon WILSONSt George16
1996Joe CORMACKWestern Suburbs21
1995Graham JONESBaulkham Hills22
1994Chris O’DWYEREast Sydney28
1993Tony QUINNSt George20
1992Darren OATESSt George19
1992Lee CAMPBELLCampbelltown19
1991David WESTSt George22
1990Michael DAVISSydney Uni17
1990Rod PODBURYCampbelltown17
1989Michael PORTAHolroyd-Parramatta19
1988Garry SPILLANEPennant Hills21
1987Rod PODBURYCampbelltown18
1986Rod PODBURYCampbelltown16
1985Frank GLEESONBalmain24
1984Graham JONESWestern Suburbs15
1983Michael TOYPennant Hills16
1983Rod PODBURYBankstown Sports16
1982John PILKINGTONNewtown19
1981Laurie AXFORDEast Sydney23
1980John PILKINGTONNewtown20
1979Rob CLARIDGEEast Sydney21
1978Jack McCORMICKSouthern Districts26
1977Dale DALTONSt George21
1976Max HODGSONBalmain29
1975George ALLENWestern Suburbs30
1974Brian TYLERSouth Sydney20
1973George ALLENWestern Suburbs22
1972Paul BOUCHIERNewtown23
1971Noel STEWARTSouthern Districts22
1970Bob McDONALDBalmain21
1969Brian TYLEREastern Suburbs22
1968Graham HODGESouthern Districts15
1967Peter BODYSydney Naval21
1966Norm TUXFORDSydney Naval20
1965Noel READINGSt George15
1964Ray GWILLIAMSouth Sydney24
1963Ray SHARROCKWestern Suburbs0
1962Arthur CRISPNorth Shore3
1961Ralph TURNERSydney Naval24
1960Tony WHISH-WILSONBankstown20
1959Ralph TURNERSouth Sydney37
1958Kevin BATCHELORSouth Sydney0
1957Colin WALLERLiverpool17
1956Ray MOOREBalmain0
1955Wally BRYCELiverpool20
1954Wally BRYCELiverpool19
1953Geoff DAVIDSONSydney Uni28
1952Frank GASCOIGNESouth Sydney23
1951John HARDYNorth Shore34
1950Ken GILBERTIllawarra0
1949Ken GILBERTIllawarra0
1948Ken CHAMPIONWestern Suburbs21
1947Ken CHAMPIONNorth Shore0
1946Billy COTTISNewtown5
1941Cliff BARNSLEYSydney27
1940Cliff BARNSLEYSydney37
1939Jack GUTHRIENorth Shore23
1938Jack WILLIAMSONEastern Suburbs0
1937Jack WILLIAMSONEastern Suburbs0
1936Reg GARVINNewtown0
1935Jack WILLIAMSONEastern Suburbs0
1934Frank SMITHSouth Sydney0
1933Jack WILLIAMSONEastern Suburbs0
1932Len HARRISSt George0
1931George JENNERSt George0
1930David ELLLEMANNorth Shore0
1929Billy McKOYSydney0
1928Billy McKOYSydney0
1927Gordon KNOTTWestern Suburbs0
1926Bobby POWERSSydney0