AFL Sydney Top End Talent Update – 2024 Men’s Pre-Season Club Invitational

Media Release – 15 February

AFL Sydney and AFL Canberra 2024 Pre-Season Invitational:

AFL Sydney and AFL Canberra are pleased to provide an update on the Men’s Pre-Season Club Invitational to be held in March, 2024.

Note: Women’s teams continue to have the option to join the established summer competition – AFLW Queanbeyan Cup.

The Pre-season Invitational is part of the AFL NSW/ACT Top End Talent programs for 2024 and will see twelve clubs from AFL Sydney (6 teams) and AFL Canberra (6 teams) compete over three weekends in March (commencing on Saturday, March 9).

The competition information including live scoring of matches can be viewed via PlayHQ – Click here

Club Entrants:

  1. Pennant Hills Demons
  2. St. George Dragons
  3. Inner West Magpies
  4. UTS AFC Bats
  5. East Coast Eagles
  6. South West Sydney Blues
  7. Belconnen Magpies
  8. Queanbeyan Tigers
  9. Eastlake Demons
  10. Gungahlin Jets
  11. Tuggeranong Valley AFNC
  12. Bateman Bay Seahawks

Seeding and Fixture:

Teams have been seeded based on home and away ladder positions from season 2023. Over the first two weeks of the competition all teams will play an equalized schedule based on seedings to ensure an equitable fixture.

In addition, the draw has been completed to ensure AFL Sydney vs. AFL Canberra match ups in all matches in week one and week two of the Pre-Season Invitational.


Matches will be 4 * 20-minute quarters (no time on) in each of the first two weeks.

The four highest ranked teams following the first two matchdays will then compete for prize money in week three (to be held at Blacktown International Sports Park in Sydney).

Finals matches will be 4 * 20-minute quarters plus time on.


Week 1:

Gungahlin Enclosed Oval, Gungahlin

11:00am: Pennant Hills (1) vs. Gungahlin Jets (4)

1:00pm: Inner West Magpies (3) vs. Batemans Bay Seahawks (6)

3:00pm: St. George Dragons (2) vs. Tuggeranong Valley AFNC (5)

Aulich Park, Queanbeyan

11:00am: Belconnen Magpies (1) vs. UTS AFC Bats (4)

1:00pm: Queanbeyan Tigers (2) vs. East Coast Eagles (5)

3:00pm Eastlake Demons (3) vs. South West Sydney Blues (6)

Week 2:

Gipps Road Sporting Complex, Greystanes

11:00am: Pennant Hills (1) vs Eastlake Demons (3)

1:00pm: Belconnen Magpies (1) vs. Inner West Magpies (3)

3:00pm: St. George Dragons (2) vs. Queanbeyan Tigers (2)

Monarch Oval, Macquarie Fields

11:00am: UTS AFC Bats (4) vs. Batemans Bay Seahawks (6)

1:00pm: Tuggeranong Valley AFNC (5) vs. East Coast Eagles (5)

3:00pm Gungahlin Jets (4) vs. South West Sydney Blues (6)

Week 3:

Blacktown International Sports Park- Oval 1, Rooty Hill

12:00pm 3rd Place Playoff: Third placed team vs. Fourth placed team

2:20pm Grand Final: First Place team vs. Second Placed team

The ladder shall be used to determine the top four teams, teams placed 5-12 will not participate in week 3.

Note: Match start times and venues subject to change

Live Streaming – Finals Matches:

Finals matches (week 3) to be played on Saturday, March 23 at Blacktown International Sports Park will be live streamed with commentary via the AFL Sydney and/or AFL Canberra Facebook pages.

Note: Matches in week 1 and 2 will not be filmed or streamed.

Prize money:

AFL Sydney and AFL Canberra are pleased to confirm the following prize money;

  • First place: $6,000.00
  • Second placed: $3,000.00
  • Third place: $2,000.00
  • Fourth place: $1,000.00

All the best to competing teams from AFL Sydney and AFL Canberra in the Pre-Season invitational.